Frisco Chamber of Commerce Appoints Two New Board Members

Typing on laptop, close-up
Each year, the Frisco Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors conducts a process to appoint new or re-appoint Board Members. The Frisco Chamber of Commerce announces the appointment of two new members to the Board of Directors. Joining the Board of Directors are Mike Barber, BKM Sowan Horan, and Mary Jo Dean, Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Plano. We are very fortunate to have these individuals serving on our Board of Directors,” said Tony Felker, President and CEO, Frisco Chamber of Commerce. “Our newest Board Members have already made a positive impact on our community and bring an exemplary level of expertise.” The new Board members will be officially introduced at the Annual Meeting on February 9, 2018, but will take office effective January 1, 2018.  Retiring Directors, Gary Carley of North Dallas Bank & Trust, and Chris Johnson of Frisco STYLE Magazine, will continue to serve until December 31, 2017. Karen Cunningham, The Hopkins Group, will finish the one-year term as Chair of the Board at the end of December 2017. Keith Wright, BB&T, current Chair-Elect, will begin a one-year term as Chair beginning January 1, 2018. The following Board Members have been reappointed: Kristin Grammar, TIG Real Estate Services, Inc.; Christal Howard, Community Impact Newspapers; Josh Meek, Meek Industries, LLC; Matthew Reiter, Whitley Penn LLP; Paul Williams, Bison Financial Group; and Keith Wright, BB&T. Remaining Board Members that will continue to serve: Ann Anderson, Anderson Insurance Agency; Heather Bowers, Lone Star Benefits; Peter Burns; Karen Cunningham, The Hopkins Group; Kevin Hodes,; Lawrence Howorth, HOWORTH International, LLC; Vik Jain, Stonebriar Financial Services; Craig Moen, Wells Fargo Advisors; Donnie Nelson, Texas Legends; Randy Nichols, Mossakowski & Nichols LLC; C. John Scheef III, Scheef & Stone LLP; and Steve Zeigler, Jersey Mike’s Subs. About the New Board Members Mike Barber, CPA – Mike and his wife Melissa have been Frisco residents for over 16 years and have two children, Sophie (13) and Zander (10).  Mike holds a Masters in Professional Accounting from the University of Texas at Austin and has practiced as a Certified Public Accountant the past 19 years. As a founding Partner at BKM Sowan Horan, LLP, Mike provides assurance expertise for companies in a variety of industries including mortgage bankers, real estate, investment funds, healthcare, and nonprofit.  He is active in community and professional organizations, including Board Member of the Frisco Community Development Corporation, Treasurer of the Rotary Club of Frisco, Founder and Chair of the North Texas Community Giving Foundation, Treasurer of the Dallas Mortgage Bankers Association, and serves on Texas Mortgage Bankers Association committees. Mary Jo Dean – Mary Jo is the Director of Community Relations and Guest Services at Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Plano and has served in this role for over six years. Previous to her position at Texas Health Plano, she worked in healthcare marketing and strategic planning and nonprofit management.

Share This Post

Get our communications

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

More to explore